From the festival programme

Le nozze di Figaro, a brilliant sextet and a virtuoso world premiere

The elaborate programme of the 25th edition of the Summer Festivities of Early Music proves that previously undiscovered gems can be found even in the legacy of such musical celebrities as Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Ludwig van Beethoven. Evidence of this will be the concert Le Salon de Musique in the Summer Refectory of Strahov Monastery, which will feature several premieres.

Jarosław Thiel © Lukasz Rajchert

Beethoven’s unsurpassed compositional genius will be recalled in an arrangement of one of his cello sonatas for string quintet by his pupil and enthusiastic promoter Ferdinand Ries.

The work will be performed in a modern world premiere by soloists of the renowned Wrocławska Orkiestra Barokowa (Wroclaw Baroque Orchestra) under the direction of cellist Jarosław Thiel.

“It is one of the best works of its kind!” So said contemporary critics about the String Sextet in E flat major, composed by Ignacy Feliks Dobrzyński, a representative of Polish musical romanticism. The brilliant Opus No. 39, interwoven with national elements, will be performed in the Czech Republic for the very first time. Moreover, the soloists of Wrocławska Orkiestra Barokowa are the first musicians to approach this piece from the position of historically informed performance...

The sextet makes full use of the sonic and technical possibilities of string instruments and gives all the musicians the opportunity to demonstrate their virtuosity.

Le Salon de musique

Mozart, Beethoven, Dobrzyński:
String Quintets and Sextets


Thursday 18. 7. 2024 | 19.00
Strahov Monastery, Summer Refectory
Strahovské nádvoří 1/132, Prague 1

The trio of greats is crowned by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, whose melodies were heard on Prague’s stages and streets as early as the 1780s. Arrangements of his works have been preserved in the Czech Museum of Music, from whose collections comes an arrangement of Le nozze di Figaro for string quintet by Kajetán Vogel. Come and enjoy the lively overture or the famous aria “Non più andrai, farfallone amoroso” (You shall go no more, amorous butterfly) performed by superb Polish soloists!

La Nozze di Figaro (frontispis)